the Fourth Annual Scala Workshop
Montpellier, France
July 2nd, 2013
co-located with ECOOP, ECMFA, and ECSA
Supported by

The leading forum for research and
development on or related to the Scala programming language.

Join us for a full day of research talks, tool demos, and opportunities to engage with researchers, practitioners, and students working with or interested in the Scala programming language. The Scala workshop is a venue for exploring ongoing work on programming languages and software engineering, intent on bridging the gap between industry and academia.

We're happy to announce that Prof. Philip Wadler will keynote at this year's edition of the Scala Workshop!

We're happy to announce that, thanks to our sponsors, a limited number of accepted student talks will be awarded full ECOOP conference registrations!


Format of the Workshop

This year, we're happy to announce that we've spiced up the format of the workshop quite a bit! In addition to full research papers, this year we also solicit short research papers, student talks, & demos.

This year, we will also be formally publishing our proceedings in the ACM Digital Library (unless authors choose not to). For more information, see the call for papers.

We solicit...

Student Talks

Short 5-10 minute talks by students presenting ongoing or completed research related to Scala, or announcing a project that would be of interest to the Scala community.

Tool Demos

A live demonstration of a tool (typically complete, robust, and well-documented), accompanied by a short paper providing an overview of the tool.

Research Papers

Papers describing original research or experience reports related to Scala.

Research papers come in two flavors:
- Regular (10 page) papers
- Short (4 page) papers

Both in ACM double-column style.

For more details, see the Call For Papers

Call for Papers

We'll also have an exciting keynote by Prof. Phil Wadler.


Program Committee

  • Marius Eriksen, Twitter
  • Viktor Kuncak, EPFL
  • Mira Mezini, TU Darmstadt
  • Matt Might, University of Utah
  • Nate Nystrom, University of Lugano
  • Bruno Oliveira, National University of Singapore
  • Kunle Olukotun, Stanford University
  • Aleksandar Prokopec, EPFL
  • Lukas Rytz, EPFL
  • David Van Horn, Northeastern University
  • Tobias Wrigstad, Uppsala University

Organizing Committee

  • Philipp Haller (Co-Chair), Typesafe
  • Martin Odersky, EPFL
  • Doug Lea, SUNY Oswego
  • Heather Miller (Co-Chair), EPFL
  • Vojin Jovanovic, EPFL

Many thanks to our generous sponsors!

Sponsoring ECOOP/ECMFA/ECSA by supporting some of the talented student attendees of Scala2013.